Staking Plans

Gamla Stan

At the Start
I've been betting on horse racing for about 7 years now, admitedly at different levels and my knowledge has vastly improved in that time and it's only in the last 18 months that I am starting to make the game pay and get some reward for the time I spend on it. That said, whilst I'm making money I think I'm not making enough and losing profit by staking badly.

Take the other week, I had three times as much on Distinctly Game in a 5 runner Lingfield handicap as I had on Kirklees in a Nad Al Sheba 16 runner handicap. Now with the benefit of hindsight, Kirklees was twice the bet of Distinctly Game. Does anyone know of a decent staking plan I can try and implement?

I have looked at the Kelly model and whilst it interests me, I think it becomes complicated if you're backing each-way and fancy more than one horse in a race (maybe I'm not selective/disciplined enough). The other issue I have with it is that you need to dedicate a betting bank to it and my problem with this is that if say I start with £100 at the month and Kelly tells me I should have £20 on a 5/1 shot then it wins and I then have £220 which makes my bank bigger so horses I back at the beginning of the month will yield less returns than ones later in the month (presuming I'm winnning).