Whip Rules

trudij

Senior Jockey
There’s a lot of controversy about the whip rules and how to deal with breaking them. Can’t help but feel that this kind of punishment would probably help...
( yet another thing Australian racing seems to have right in my humble opinion, along with a mandatory 3-6 months off after breaking blood vessels - retirement of horses who don’t reach a certain level of talent and also a mandatory upper age limit of 12 for the horses...( not that I have much of an issue with most horses who are still going at that age and older, but there are quite a few who shouldn’t!)

2e6ab7f5f9eb9554167c3d46bdf716ba.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've been banging on about the whip rules for over 20 years.

If the whip rules are breached, the jockey should be severely dealt with and the horse disqualified. Horse and jockey in a race are a unit. If overuse or misuse of the whip has given the horse an an unfair advantage over others, although not the horse's fault, it should still be disqualified. It's hard on the owners but it should at least make them think twice about who to let ride and/or even train the horse.

It's the only way to eliminate unfair use of the whip.

This case adds another dimension and I see the logic.

If, by benefiting from misuse of the whip, a hose has qualified for a final, its qualification should be voided.

This leads to another dimension. If part of the punishment is time off for the horse (I don't know the motivation for this - to allow the horse extra time to recover?) then if it can qualify legitimately for the final upon its return that should be allowed to stand.

Other racing authorities around the world really do make our administrators look like a bunch of fannies.

PS - going off at a tangent, I wonder if there is a collective noun for 'fannies'...

Last edited:
I've been banging on about the whip rules for over 20 years.